Cholesterol Lowering Medications, What Are The Side Effects? - Dr. Lyle



ZetiaReviews

people have reviewed this drug
2.5 Stars
Review this Drug

Tips for Good Reviews

SHOW:
0.5 Stars
Posted 119 months ago (1/4/2009)

RatedZetiafor High cholesterolReport

Within 5 days of use i experienced severe depression, severe headache followed by involuntary muscle spasming. Contemplated suicide. This is a vile and dangerous drug.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 139 months ago (4/24/2007)

RatedZetiafor High cholesterolReport

Zetia is a tiny white pill that is very easy to swallow. It worked very well in combination with Pravachol in reducing my cholesteral levels from well above 200 to around 160. I experienced no side effects at all.

Report
2 Stars
Posted 144 months ago (12/7/2006)

RatedZetiafor High cholesterolReport

Zetia for High Cholesterol I had a heart attack in December 2003. My total cholesterol was around 275 and my LDL and Tryglyceride numbers were quite high. HDL was in the mid-thirties. Doctors insisted on using statins. I would always develop severe muscle and joint pain and just didn't feel well at all. I tried Pravachol, Zocor, Vytorin and Lescol but always had terrible side effects. My doctor now has me on 10 mg of Zetia and 1877 mg of Welchol. After about six weeks, I developed a pain in my right side and my vision began to blur. We discontinued the Zetia for two months and the symptoms went away. She placed my back on the Zetia and the symptoms were back within six or seven weeks. I simply cannot tolerate statins, fribrates or Zetia. I am exercising six days a week with weights and treadmill use. I continue to take the Welchol and resumed taking 20 mg of Lescol on Monday, Wednesday and Friday. I can tolerate the side effects of three day a week usage. Total cholesterol is now around 225 and my HDL is around 48. My LDL is still too high but it has dropped. I am trying to lose about ten more pounds and increase my time on the treadmill because there is a definite relationship between exercise and HDL levels. Statins, Zetia or Fibrates may work for many but I cannot tolerate them at all.

Report
2.5 Stars
Posted 151 months ago (4/26/2006)

RatedZetiafor High cholesterolReport

not much good so far cholesterol level still 8+

Report
4 Stars
Posted 151 months ago (4/12/2006)

RatedZetiafor Diabetes Mellitus Type IIReport

great reduction of LDL After 18 years of statins only, living with side effects, Zetia was added to my things to try. LDL has been 75 and 80 on my last two blood tests. Zetia 10 mg in morning an Crestor 10 mg at night. However, the HDL has not moved upward still in low 40's. Type II treatment going on 6 years, keeping a 60 day running average of 113 glucose level.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 151 months ago (4/12/2006)

RatedZetiafor High cholesterolReport

great reduction of LDL After 18 years of statins only, living with side effects, Zetia was added to my things to try. LDL has been 75 and 80 on my last two blood tests. Zetia 10 mg in morning an Crestor 10 mg at night. However, the HDL has not moved upward still in low 40's. Type II treatment going on 6 years, keeping a 60 day running average of 113 glucose level.

Report
3 Stars
Posted 156 months ago (11/25/2005)

RatedZetiafor High cholesterolReport

Disappointed ....... After a bad time of it with Lipitor (muscle aches and weakness), I was hoping Zetia would be the one. I liked that it wasn't a statin and had different mode of action. However, after about 6 weeks I felt my usual osteoarthritis pain was getting worse again, plus I had blurry vision that made it impossible for me to read in the evening. So I stopped it. Turns out its effect on my cholesterol was mxed: Total 221 (from 276), HDL 38 (from 45), LDL 123 (from 160), Triglyc. 298 (from 357). Funny how my good cholesterol went down too. Also that triglyc. went down when I thought Zetia doesn't work on triglyc. Anyways, next thing I will be trying will be niacin.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 162 months ago (5/11/2005)

RatedZetiafor High cholesterolReport

Lowered my levels a little. No side effects. Not much to say on this drug. It did lower my levels a little bit with no side effects. It is good as a "helper" to statins. I choose to take very low dose of statins (M-W-F) instead of a full dose.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 166 months ago (1/15/2005)

RatedZetiafor High cholesterolReport

Risks IF taking with non-statin meds.. It's not a statin, it is an intestinal absorption blocker. Often used in conjunction with statin drugs. If using by itself, the maker claims average 18% LDL reduction. IF also taking with cholestyramine (bile salt sequestrants) such as Colestid or Questran, this DECREASES your availability of Zetia by 55-80% so you must be monitored. This is from the Rx's precautionary statement. Coadministration w/fibrates (Lofibra, Tricor) increased Zetia concentrations 1.5x (48-64%). This is also not safety tested YET;therefore not recommended! Source: zetia.com & Rx insert Precuations) Zetia increases cholesterol in gallbladder bile (which is how it removes the cholesterol from your blood). The problem is that if both drugs remove too much cholesterol, your body may not be able to expel all of it from there on its own.

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 169 months ago (10/26/2004)

RatedZetiafor High cholesterolReport

Zetia Reduces LDL About 18% For those without other risk factors such as smoking or high blood pressure, Zetia along with diet changes can help reduce mild cholesterol and LDL elevations. The literature says an 18% drop in LDL..... which is just what Zetia reduced LDL for me. It also says a 15% drop in total cholesterol......which is exactly how much mine dropped. Once a day..........zero side effects, without the potential liver problems of the statins, Provochol, Lipitor, etc.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 170 months ago (9/7/2004)

RatedZetiafor High cholesterolReport

No side effects, limited LDL reduction This med is taken once daily. It does not have the same possible side effects on the liver that the statins can cause, including elevated liver enzmes....a sign of liver inflamation. I have experienced absolutely no side effects ever. It works well when added to drugs like Lipitor, etc for those who still can't reduce their cholesterol levels to their target. However, you can use it alone for milder LDL elevations. It seems to reduce LDL 15-20%, total cholesterol is reduced 12-18%, increases HDL 3-6%, and reduces triglycerides about 9-13%. My actual results seemed right on with the study results.

Report
4.5 Stars
Posted 172 months ago (8/6/2004)

RatedZetiafor High cholesterolReport

Zetia I was on Zocor, Prevachol and Lipitor - all had serious side effects. I LOVE ZETIA. I have been taking it for almost one year now, with no known side effects. And it lowered my total Cholesterol 70 points, lowered my Triglycerides, raised my good cholesterol and lowered the bad. So I am very pleased. My cholesterol is still 202, but this is much better than 272 (which NONE of the statins had lowered) but caused health problems.

Report

About Drugs A-Z

Drugs A-Z provides drug information from Everyday Health and our partners, as well as ratings from our members, all in one place. Cerner Multum™ provides the data within some of the Basics, Side Effects, Interactions, and Dosage tabs. The information within the Reviews and FAQ tabs is proprietary to Everyday Health.

You can browse Drugs A-Z for a specific prescription or over-the-counter drug or look up drugs based on your specific condition. This information is for educational purposes only, and not meant to provide medical advice, treatment, or diagnosis. Remember to always consult your physician or health care provider before starting, stopping, or altering a treatment or health care regimen.

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information provided by on this page is accurate, up-to-date, and complete, but no guarantee is made to that effect. Drug information contained herein may be time sensitive. The information on this page has been compiled for use by healthcare practitioners and consumers in the United States and therefore neither Everyday Health or its licensor warrant that uses outside of the United States are appropriate, unless specifically indicated otherwise. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensors endorse drugs, diagnose patients or recommend therapy. The drug information above is an informational resource designed to assist licensed healthcare practitioners in caring for their patients and/or to serve consumers viewing this service as a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise, skill, knowledge and judgment of healthcare practitioners. The absence of a warning for a given drug or drug combination in no way should be construed to indicate that the drug or combination is safe, effective or appropriate for any given patient. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensor assume any responsibility for any aspect of healthcare administered with the aid of the information provided. The information contained herein is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, drug interactions, allergic reactions, or adverse effects. If you have any questions about the drugs you are taking, check with your doctor, nurse or pharmacist.






Video: CARDIOVASCULAR DRUGS; STATINS & BLOOD THINNERS by Professor Fink

Zetia Reviews
Zetia Reviews images

2019 year
2019 year - Zetia Reviews pictures

Zetia Reviews forecast
Zetia Reviews advise photo

Zetia Reviews photo
Zetia Reviews photo

Zetia Reviews Zetia Reviews new pics
Zetia Reviews new foto

images Zetia Reviews
pictures Zetia Reviews

Watch Zetia Reviews video
Watch Zetia Reviews video

Discussion on this topic: Zetia Reviews, zetia-reviews/
Communication on this topic: Zetia Reviews, zetia-reviews/ , zetia-reviews/

Related News


Aniston and Mayer birthday bash
Houman Danesh, MD
Panobinostat Reviews
How to Pack Lobster for Travel
I Cry After Sex
Khloé Kardashian admits she had trouble breastfeeding True due to stress
Why BB creams are the quick fix for instantly flawless skin
Prince William treats Kate Middleton to 40k holiday
Democrats, Republicans more divided over media watchdog role than ever
She Beat Kidney Cancer, Lost 97 Pounds, and Saved Herself From Food Addiction
One Girl, 3 Eyebrow Shapes by Chriselle Lim



Date: 04.12.2018, 16:31 / Views: 35285